Quality Certification

What is ISO 9001:2015?

ISO 9001 is an international standard that sets out the requirements for Quality Management Systems (QMS). It employs the process approach, which incorporates the Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) cycle and risk based thinking.

The requirements of ISO 9001 are underpinned by seven quality management principles that encompass the key attributes for business excellence including a strong emphasis on customer satisfaction.

The quality management principles are:

  • customer focus
  • leadership
  • engagement of people
  • process approach
  • improvement
  • evidence-based decision making
  • relationship management

Western Sydney University Library operates a Quality Management System which complies with the requirements of ISO 9001:2015 (MSC Global certification number 1429Q) for the:


Provision of scholarly materials and services in support of the University's research and teaching across all campus libraries incorporating administration, IT support functions and application development

If you have any suggestions in ways we can improve our service please Email Us