Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Accounting

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Australian accounting and auditing standards (Handbook)
Australian accounts preparation manual
Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of accounting
Dictionary of accounting
Dictionary of accounting terms
Dictionary of international business terms
International dictionary of accounting acronyms




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
ABI/INFORM Global
Indexes over 1000 English language journal and newspaper articles on advertising, business, companies, computers, economics, finance, human resources, marketing, public affairs and taxation. Most include abstracts, many include full text. International coverage. 1985 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
ACCOUNT
Indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on accounting and related business topics, produced by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia. Source documents are Australian journal articles, conference papers and academic research papers. Coverage: 1982 -

More information about this database
Annual Reports Online
This research tool offers access to Australian companies' annual reports dating back to 1995. It also provides access to the full documentation of Australian Stock Exchange announcements from October 1998 to today, including prospectuses. These announcements are updated continually throughout the day.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Factiva
Factiva provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 10 concurrent users.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Fin Analysis
This database is a source of listed company financial history and analysis. Fin Analysis provides a 12-year history of detailed financial information for all companies listed on ASX.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Tax and Accounting Online - Taxpoint
Taxpoint is the ATP's online taxation database. Coverage includes GST & Tax Cases, legislation and commentary; Corporate and Accounting Services, and Bankruptcy & Insolvency Services.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Accounting E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Auditing and Assurance Standards Board
Auditing and Assurance Standards Board ("AUASB") as an independent statutory body. As the national auditing and assurance standards setter, the AUASB has an important role in developing high quality standards and related guidance for auditors and providers of other assurance services.

Australian Accounting Standards Board
Papers, media releases, newsletters and publications from this board can be located here. Some parts of the site are restricted to members.

Australian Department of Finance & Administration
Budgeting Papers and documentation including information on reporting procedures and framework is available here. There is also a glossary of terms, a chat room, a site search facility and links to other related sites.

Australian Stock Exchange
Includes company research, shareholder information, market statistics, upcoming events and courses and services. Some information is not free.

Australian Taxation Office (ATO)
Provides information for individuals, professionals and business, including forms, glossary of terms, and links to the Tax Reform site and to the ATO Legal Database for information to aid in the interpretation of taxation law.

CPA Online
Australia's premier professional organisation of Certified Practising Accountants. It contains information on the organisation, its practices, GST, taxation, publications, forums, discussion groups, services and industry related links available. Some parts of this site are restricted to members only.

Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia
The Institute sets the technical and ethical standards for members and provides leadership for the profession. A major part of the Institute's activities involves representing members at the highest levels with governments, business and professional organisations, academic institutions and the news media.
It site includes media releases, upcoming events, its annual report, career opportunities and student information.

National Institute of Accountants
The National Institute of Accountants (NIA) is a professional organisation for Australian accountants recognised for their practical, hands-on skills and a broad understanding of the total business environment.

Taxation Institute of Australia
Taxation Institute of Australia homepage. Includes news and press releases from the ATO. Some information is only accessible to TIA members.

International Sites


Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales Links Page
The Library of this Institute has created an enormous collection of links related to finance and accounting. The links are organised by category down the left frame of the site and include accounting and auditing, economics and taxation. New links are added frequently and noted with a large red 'new' icon.

International Accounting Standards Board
The International Accounting Standards Board is an independent, privately-funded accounting standard-setter based in London, UK. The Board members come from nine countries and have a variety of functional backgrounds. The IASB is committed to developing a single set of high quality, understandable and enforceable global accounting standards and co-operates with national accounting standard-setters to achieve convergence in accounting standards around the world.

International Federation of Accountants (IFAC)
This organisation represents US accountants employed in public practice, business and industry, the public sector, and education, as well as some specialized groups that interface frequently with the profession. It has representation in over 133 countries representing 2 million accountants. Its site includes information on forums, standards, latest developments, committees and many articles in full text. Some sections are restricted to membership.

Rutgers Accounting Web
Maintained by Rutgers University (USA) this site provides useful links to US and International accounting sites. Full text for members.

US Securities & Exchange Commission
Contains news releases, upcoming events, special studies, annual reports, legal briefs, the Edgar database of corporate information and links to other related sites.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help