You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources
e-resources
MedicineThis is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.
For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Australian medicines handbook
Gale encyclopedia of medicine
Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy
MIMS Online
Osler medical handbook
Oxford companion to the body
Stedman's medical dictionary
Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
|
AccessMedicine AccessMedicine provides complete and authoritative internationally-recognized references such as Harrison's Online and Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Students and health professionals can access the most up-to-date medical knowledge in internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, and patient care. AccessMedicine features include daily updates, peer-reviewed content, CME, drug database updated monthly, patient education, clinical practice guidelines, a self-assessment tool and PDA downloads for use at point-of-care. This resource allows 5 simultaneous users. |
|
|
Anatomy.tv Presents a detailed interactive model of the Human Anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model. This resource allows 5 simultaneous users. |
|
|
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. |
|
|
MD Consult MD Consult Core Collection provides answers to clinical questions and access to the full-text of over 50 medical reference books and over 70 full-text medical journals (including Clinics of North America). It also provides access to MEDLINE, comprehensive drug information, peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines, and customisable patient education handouts. |
|
|
Meditext Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. It also includes scanned images of journal articles in Meditext, which are sourced mostly from the 80+ comprehensively indexed journals. |
|
|
Medline Indexes articles from approximately 3.600 journals in medicine, nursing, life sciences, human health and the environment, toxicology, nutrition and other health related topics. Also indexes a selection of conference proceedings. International coverage. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes abstracts. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1966 - This resource has a 10 concurrent user limit. |
|
|
PubMed Contains the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. |
|
|
Scopus Scopus is the world's largest abstract and indexing database with access to around 15,000 peer-reviewed titles in health, sciences, engineering, social sciences, psychology, and economics. Scopus currently provides access to over 25 million abstracts with coverage dating back to 1966. A citation tracker feature has recently been released. |
|
| Related Databases | General Databases | Additional Research Resources | |
e-journals
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Health Sciences E-Journals
Internet Links
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Sites | International Sites |
Australian Sites
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet is an innovative web resource that makes knowledge and information on Indigenous health easily accessible to inform practice and policy. This web resource is a 'one-stop info-shop' for people interested in improving the health of Indigenous Australians. It aims to provide quality, up-to-date knowledge and information about many aspects of Indigenous health.
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare ( AIHW ) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information. It is an Australian Government statutory authority accountable to Parliament. It?s aim is to provide statistical information that governments and the community can use to promote discussion and make decisions on health, housing and community services.
Australian Medical Association
The AMA seeks to promote and advance ethical behaviour by the medical profession and protect the integrity and independence of the doctor/patient relationship. It acts as a body to promote and advance public health. It strives to preserve and protect the political, legal and industrial interests of medical practitioners.
Doctors Reform Society of Australia
The Doctors Reform Society (DRS) is an organization of doctors and medical students supporting health care reforms to ensure justice, equity and quality care for all regardless of social or economic status. The DRS produces a journal and local newsletters available from the website. A public discussion board focusing on health politics also runs on this website
Health Insite
Commonwealth Government sponsored site which provides a single entry point to quality information from leading health information providers, including peak health organisations, government agencies and educational and research institutions. All content must go through the process for the Assessment of Content for HealthInsite and be approved by a highly qualified Editorial Board
National Health & Medical Research Council
This statutory organisation is Australia?s leading expert body promoting the development and maintenance of public and individual health standards.
New South Wales Medical Board
The New South Wales Medical Board has a statutory responsibility to protect the health and safety of the people of NSW. It does this by providing a range of programs and services aimed at ensuring that all doctors registered in NSW are fit to practise medicine at the high standard the public is entitled to expect.
NSW Health (NSW Department of Health)
NSW Health comprises the NSW Department of Health and public health organisations. Provides access to Common health topics including helpful guides and information sheets, Guide to Services in your Area, Research and Statistics, News and variety of other health related information
International Sites
EMedicine
This site provides thousands of peer-reviewed articles on a spectrum of medial topics in 62 medical specialties. Academic requirements for authors and editors are listed on the home page.
Healthlinks: University of Washington
Provides a useful selection of links relating to Evidence Based Practice, from the University of Washington.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse? (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, an initiative of U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence
The National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) is an independent organisation in the UK responsible for providing national guidance on the promotion of good health and the prevention and treatment of ill health.
Netting the Evidence
This website produced by Sheffield University has a simple inter-face and professes to, facilitate evidence-based health care by providing support and access to helpful organizations and useful learning resources, such as an evidence-based virtual library, software and journals
SUMSearch
From the University of Texas Health Science Centre. This service searces Pubmed, the National Guidelines ClearingHouse and the Cochrane Database simultaneously to give results that are a mixture of systematic reviews, guidelines, and original research. It also gives some assistance with search expressions.
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization is the United Nations specialized agency for health. It was established on 7 April 1948. WHO's objective, as set out in its Constitution, is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health. Health is defined in WHO's Constitution as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.
