You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources
e-resources
This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.
For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Aviation law for pilots
Civil Aviation Orders
Civil Aviation Safety Regulations 1998
VFR Flight Guide
Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
|
ABI/INFORM Global Indexes over 1000 English language journal and newspaper articles on advertising, business, companies, computers, economics, finance, human resources, marketing, public affairs and taxation. Most include abstracts, many include full text. International coverage. 1985 - |
|
|
Academic Research Library (ARL) Provides articles on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. Includes the full text and images from 1300 journals and some newspapers. Coverage: 1986 - |
|
|
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. |
|
|
Current Contents Connect Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness database which provides access to the latest published research in over 100 disciplines from more than 8000 scholarly journals and 2000 books, as well as expert evaluated web sites. |
|
|
Factiva Factiva provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 10 concurrent users. |
|
|
Lexis.com Provides access to legal and business information as well as major Australian and international newspapers . There is extensive coverage of United States primary and secondary materials including statutes of all states. Major collections of English, French and Canadian law are available as well as other legal materials from Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Scotland, Italy and the European Communities |
|
|
PsycINFO Covers literature relevant to psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Includes references and abstracts to conference papers, dissertations, and technical reports in addition to journal articles and monographs. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1987 - |
|
| Related Databases | General Databases | Additional Research Resources | |
e-journals
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Aviation E-Journals
Internet Links
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Sites | International Sites |
Australian Sites
Air Services Australia
Airservices Australia (ASA) is primarily responsible for air traffic control and airspace management in our region of the world. The website includes information on the many services of ASA, as well as general industry information for pilots and the public.
Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
Website of aircraft owners? and pilots? lobby group. With links to the AOPA magazine, news, aero clubs, meteorology and various aviation links
Australian Transport Safety Bureau
Formerly the Bureau of Air Safety Investigation, the ATSB Aviation site covers all aspects of safety in aviation. Links are provided to accident and incident reports, investigation reports and aviation safety issues.
Bankstown Airport home page
Links to information for pilots and aviation enthusiasts, including the Sydney Basin Visual Pilot Guide (VPG), history of Bankstown Airport, Australian airports and Bankstown Airport Administration.
Bureau of Meteorology
Detailed meteorological information for Australia, states and regions including weather forecasts, warnings and observations.
Civil Aviation Safety Authority Australia
Provides corporate information about CASA, and links to industry information including legislation and regulation, flying safely, pilot information and articles from the Flight Safety Australia journal.
Hunter Meteorology Home page
Meteorology links, human factors links, and links to airlines, manufacturers and authorities and general aviation sites
International Sites
Air Accidents Investigation Branch (UK)
UK equivalent of the ATSB Aviation. Includes links to Formal Reports, Bulletin Reports, the Civil Aviation Regulations 1996, and other aviation and safety agencies.
Aviation and Aerospace Medicine
This site contains several sections of aerospace medical resources. Each section is described in the table below.
Aviation/Aerospace
World?s premier distributor of industry, government, U.S., and non-U.S. standards, specifications and other technical publications in a variety of collections and media, from print to CD-ROM and the Internet, that are useful to the aviation and aerospace industries.
Federal Aviation Administration - U.S
The US administrative body for aviation. With comprehensive industry information and links.
Flight Safety Foundation
Provides information about flight safety developments, with links to publications, seminars, special reports, and a calendar of events.
International Air Transport Association (IATA)
IATA is the trade association for international air transport, and deals with safety, environment, infrastructure, distribution and regulations in the industry. With links to career information, products and services, conferences and exhibitions, press releases and other air transport issues.
International Civil Aviation Organization
ICAO's strategic plan, annual reports, news releases, ICAO journal, monthly library bulletin and various industry links.
National Transportation Safety Board Database (U.S)
This is the site of the US NTSB accident/incident database, with comprehensive searching facilities. Features an aviation glossary.
