You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources
e-resources
WelfareThis is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.
For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Critical Visions : New directions in social theory
Dictionary of sociology
Gender identity and discourse analysis
Good Society : The humane agenda
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
National community services data dictionary
Oxford companion to the politics of the world
Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
|
APAFT - Australian Public Affairs Full Text APAFT - Australian Public Affairs ? Full Text is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. Full text coverage (320 journals): 26,886 records (1995 -)Index coverage: 281,000+ records (1978 -) |
|
|
Family Plus - Family & Society Plus Family & Society Plus is an indexing and full text database that provides online access to the scanned images of articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Family & Society Plus is based on 'FAMILY', the Australian Family & Society Abstracts database. Subject coverage includes research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Some examples are children and child development; adolescence and youth; the aged and services to the aged; marriage and divorce; adoption and foster care; child abuse and domestic violence; child care; family economics; counselling and therapy; employment and unemployment; family law; health; housing; health policy and services; minority families; population studies; social change and social issues; social and community services; and sexual attitudes and behaviours. Full text: 2000- ; Index: 1980- |
|
|
Proquest Social Science Journals Wilson's Social Sciences Index with full-text and images. Disciplines covered include addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, art and more. Full text available. International with American emphasis. Coverage: 1986 - ( indexing from 1971) |
|
|
PsycINFO Covers literature relevant to psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Includes references and abstracts to conference papers, dissertations, and technical reports in addition to journal articles and monographs. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1987 - |
|
|
Social Services Abstracts CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. |
|
|
Sociological Abstracts Contains information from approx. 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations from the Dissertation Abstracts International. Coverage: 1963 - |
|
| Related Databases | General Databases | Additional Research Resources | |
e-journals
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Social Welfare E-Journals
Internet Links
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Sites | International Sites |
Australian Sites
Australian Council on Social Services
Peak council of the community welfare sector and the principal voice for people affected by poverty and disadvantage.
Australian Department of Health & Ageing
Provides data & statistics, media updates, publications and reports and health information for consumers and health professionals.
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare ( AIHW ) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
Councils on the Ageing and the National Seniors Association
Website of the largest seniors organisation in Australia with over 270,000 individuals and 1000 seniors organisations under its umbrella. It is an independent consumer organisation run by and for older Australians.
National Ageing Research Institute Incorporated
Major Australian organisation undertaking medical research (biological, clinical and service delivery) into the causes and consequences of ageing and its social accompaniments.
NSW Department of Community Services
The NSW Department of Community Services (DoCS) promotes the safety and wellbeing of children and young people and works to build stronger families and communities.
NSW Health (NSW Department of Health)
Provides data & statistics, media updates, publications and reports and health information for consumers and health professionals.
International Sites
Social science information gateway
A well regarded service which aims to provide a trusted source of selected, high quality Internet information for students, academics, researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law. It is part of the UK Resource Discovery Network.
