Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Management

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Blackwell encyclopedia of management
Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of human resource management
Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of international management
Business Who?s Who of Australia
Dictionary of e-business a definitive guide to technology and business terms
Encyclopedia of management
Encyclopedia of operations research and management science
Operations research calculations handbook




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
ABI/INFORM Global
Indexes over 1000 English language journal and newspaper articles on advertising, business, companies, computers, economics, finance, human resources, marketing, public affairs and taxation. Most include abstracts, many include full text. International coverage. 1985 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
AIMMAT: AIM Management and Training
Indexes articles on management, training and related fields. Source documents are Australian (plus some New Zealand and South-East Asian) journal articles. Subject coverage includes management, training, human resources, communication and marketing. Specific examples include organisational change, competency-based training, total quality, workplace relations and enterprise bargaining, customer service, export, employee communication, leadership, business ethics, and work family. Many case studies are also included in the database. Coverage: 1991 -

More information about this database
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
CBCA Business
This collection provides in depth access to a broad range of Canadian business periodicals. It satisfies the information needs of business professionals, journalists, students, and teachers interested in business issues in Canada. Over 400 journals make up the collection, with file depth back to the early 1980s. Trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications are all included.

More information about this database
EDGE: Management & Industries
Includes citations and abstracts of articles from approximately 80 journals, providing international coverage on such topics as strategic and financial management; human resources; Asian economies; energy efficiency; recycling; packaging trends and methods for glass, plastic, metal and paper; and building products and trends. Packaging issues for end use markets such as food and beverages are also included. Coverage : 1985-.

More information about this database
Emerald Journals
This Electronic Management Research Library Database is produced by MCB University Press. The database contains over 25,000 management, operations, HR, marketing, library, training and engineering articles from over 130 journals. Coverage: citations and abstracts 1989 -, full text 1994 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Factiva
Factiva provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 10 concurrent users.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Informit e-Library - Business Collection
Covers all broad business fields, including: accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. The Business Collection provides access to full content from a range of journals, monographs and books, and reference materials published by a myriad of small Australasian academic and professional associations, interest groups and research centres.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Business E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


ACTU (Australian Council of Trade Unions)
The peak council and national centre representing the Australian workforce. Contains a newsroom, campaign policies, international information and links to other ACTU sites.

Australian Industrial Relations Commission
This tribunal looks after workplace rights of workers, interest of these workers, employers and association that are regulated by Australian industrial laws.

Australian Institute of Management
Provides information on Membership, publications, education and training and links to other related organisations.

Business Entry Point
The BEP is an online government resource for the Australian business community. It provides business with a wide range of services and information about start-up, taxation, licensing and legislation, as well as significant transactions such as taxation compliance and licence applications. It also includes a jargon buster.

Industrial Relations Commission of NSW
This tribunal looks after workplace rights of workers, interest of these workers, employers and association that are regulated by Australian industrial laws. Includes links to NSW industrial awards.

Workplace Authority
The Workplace Authority is a Commonwealth Government statutory body with responsibility for providing advice, assistance, information and education on workplace agreements made under the Workplace Relations Act 1996.

Workplace Research Centre (formerly ACIRRT)
A leading Australian multi disciplinary organisation that monitors and analyses the changing nature of work. Includes books, reports and working papers.

International Sites


BUBL Link Catalogue of Internet Resources ?Management
BUBL, the Bulletin Board for Libraries, provides connections to a huge variety of sources. Sites are vetted, and have a strong academic orientation. At least 50% of sites are UK, or non USA ones.

Centre for Employment Studies Research Review
This website is maintained by Bristol Business School of the University of the West of England. It is aimed at employment relations and human resource management practitioners, trade unionists, researchers, lecturers and students in these and related fields. The CESR Review not only carries short articles, book reviews and interviews, but also details of the major journals and other web-sites useful to those working in these fields.

HRM Guide Net
Is a network of HR and other websites providing information and links to articles about human resource topics, personnel, people management and other work-related issues.

ILO (International Labour Organization)
The ILO is the UN specialized agency which formulates International labour standards in the form of conventions and recommendations setting minimum standards of basic labour rights. Information on international labour legislation, statistics and OHS laws and regulations is provided here.

KM Network
From the Brint Institute, this is a leading resource in business technology management and knowledge management. Includes books, articles, research papers, links to other sites, discussion lists, forthcoming events and career information. Free registration is required.

SOSIG-Management
The Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG) aims to provide a trusted source of selected, high quality Internet information for students, academics, researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law. It has subsections on human resource management, management theories, operations management and organizational management. SOSIG is part of the UK Resource Discovery Network.

TOMI:Technology & Operations Management Index
Provides information on a wide range of topics including purchasing, product development, innovation management, manufacturing strategy, inventory control, logistics, quality, service operations, conferences, discussion groups and research centres.

Workindex.com
Workindex.com is a comprehensive link to issues affecting the workplace, including human resource management, labour relations, benefits, training, technology, staffing, recruiting, leadership, and motivation. Produced in cooperation with the Cornell University School of Industrial and Labor Relations.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help