Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Languages and Linguistics

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Blackwell reference online - linguistics
Concise Oxford companion to the English language
Concise Oxford dictionary of linguistics
Concise Oxford Spanish dictionary
Encyclopedia of language and linguistics
Oxford essential dictionary of foreign terms in English
Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage
Routledge encyclopedia of language teaching and learning




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
AEI: Australian Education Index (Use A+ Education)
Indexes and abstracts documents from printed and electronic sources at all levels of education and related fields in Australia. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. Coverage: 1978 -

More information about this database
Communication Abstracts
Communication Abstracts, published by SAGE Publications, is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Communication Abstracts covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. Coverage has recently been expanded to include international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.

More information about this database
DELTAA: Database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia
Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on English second language learning and teaching in Australasia. Subject coverage includes adult basic education, adult immigrant education, Adult Migrant English Program, applied linguistics, cross cultural communication, English in the workplace, literacy, second language instruction and learning. Source documents include print, non-print and electronic resources in a wide range of formats. Coverage: 1985 -

More information about this database
ERIC
ERIC is the U.S. national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. The database consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 750 professional journals. In addition, ERIC now contains over 850 ERIC Digest records that feature the full text of the original document. Coverage: 1982 -

More information about this database
Linguisitics and Language Behavioural Abstracts
Includes citations and abstracts of articles from approximately 2000 international journals in the field of linguistics and various sub-disciplines such as child language, language therapy, artificial intelligence and bilingualism. Coverage: 1973 -

More information about this database
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Languages and Linguistics E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Applied Linguistics Association of Australia
Links to the ALAA Newsletter and Conference proceedings.

Australasian Association for Lexicography
Newsletter plus links to dictionaries, conferences, societies and lexicography links.

Australian Linguistics Society
Australian Linguistic Society is hosted on the pages of the Research Centre for Linguistic Typology at La Trobe University.

Sydney Area Language and Speech Special Interest Group
Web site of Sydney Area Language and Speech Special Interest Group. (SALS-SIG) Events, conferences and seminars.

International Sites


Chinese Characters and Culture
A dictionary based on zipu or "character genealogies" showing graphically the interconnections between over 4000 characters. This allows any character to be found if the viewer knows any part of the character.

Chinese-English/English-Chinese Dictionary
A downloadable Chinese/English dictionary. Searches can be conducted by Chinese (using either the GB, Big5, or Unicode encodings), pinyin, or English. Results will show the Chinese word, the pinyin representation of the word, and the English definition. You can also click on the pinyin to hear how it is pronounced.

Italian-English/English-Italian Dictionary
Standard Italian?English/English-Italian dictionary from FreeDict.

Japanese-English/English-Japanese Dictionary
Jim Breens Japanese Dictionary (at Monash University) allows you to translate words into Japanese text, search for a word, or find a kanji in the database.

Online Directory of ESL Resources
comes from the National Clearinghouse for Bilingual Education and the ERIC Clearinhouse on Languages and Linguistics. The database can be searched by keyword or using the hypertext index provided. Site also contains ideas for lesson plans, conference listings, English language clubs and more.

Sakhr Dictionary (Arabic/English/French/Turkish/German)

Spanish-English/English-Spanish Dictionary
This dictionary has over 56,508 entries with over 10,369 audio pronunciations.

Vdict.com Vietnamese-English-French Dictionary
Bilingual dictionaries for Vietnamese-English and Vietnamese-French, plus monolingual dictionaries for Vietnamese and English (Wordnet), and the Free Online Dictionary Of Computing (FOLDOC). Can perform searches in all dictionaries simultaneously, with Quick Match and Auto Complete; takes VNI, Telex, and English input.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help