Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources



This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Constituents of medicinal plants
Complementary medicines in the Australian health system
Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy.
MIMS
Nursing herbal medicine handbook
Oxford companion to the body




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
AMI: Australasian Medical Index (Use Meditext)
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 100 Australian health and medical journals that are not indexed in Medline. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and the full text of most National Health and Medical Research Council sessions. Coverage: 1968 +

More information about this database
Anatomy.tv
Presents a detailed interactive model of the Human Anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model. This resource allows 5 simultaneous users.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
CINAHL Plus with Fulltext
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. This resource has an unlimited concurrent user level.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
eTG Complete (Therapeutic Guidelines)
eTG Complete provides searchable on-line access to all 11 volumes of Therapeutic Guidelines.Therapeutic Guidelines are disease-oriented guidelines for prescribing and give clear, practical and succinct recommendations for therapy. They are prepared in Australia primarily for Australian conditions. Non-drug options are given when appropriate. The guidance is derived from the best available scientific evidence.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
PubMed
Contains the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with no concurrent user limits.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Alternative Medicine E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


ANZALS (Australian & New Zealand Association for Leisure Studies)
This site was established in 1991 to provide academics, researchers and professionals with an interest in leisure research and scholarship with opportunities to enhance the profile of leisure studies an the south pacific region.

Australasian Podiatry Council
The Australian Podiatry Association is the only professional representative organisation and more than 80% of practising podiatrists are members. The national professional body is the Australasian Podiatry Council, with which the State Associations and the New Zealand Society are affiliated. The site provides links to Competency Standards, Clinical guidelines, Policies, and a basic foot assessment checklist.

Australian Acupuncture and Chinese Medicine Association Ltd
The Australian Acupuncture and Chinese Medicine Association Ltd is the leading national professional association of acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine practitioners and is the primary mechanism for regulating and representing acupuncture and Chinese medicine practitioners in Australia.

Australian Naturopathic Network
The Australian Naturopathic Network provides excellent professional naturopathic health care to the community based on our own evolving philosophical framework that maintains relevance to the times and the community. With a strong interest in men's health issues, naturopathic philosophy, health psychology and the evolution of a modern practice framework.

Australian Osteopathic Association
Website of the national professional body representing Osteopaths in Australia. The AOA represents Osteopaths in all states, liaising with government and all other statutory bodies regarding professional, educational and legislation issues.

Diversional Therapy Association of NSW
Is the professional association for those employed as diversional therapists, recreational activities officers and those employed in the leisure and recreation industry working with people with disabilities. The Code of Ethics for this profession is also available at this site.

OT Seeker
This is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. The site also provided good links to other sites about evidence - based practice

International Sites


Alternative Medicine Home Page
From the University of Pittsburgh, this site contains lists of sources in alternative medicine for HIV/AIDS, databases, Internet resources, mailing lists and newsgroups, government resources, directories of practitioners, and more.

American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO)
The mission of this organisation is to teach, advocate, and research the science, art and philosophy of osteopathic medicine, emphasizing the integration of osteopathic principles, practice and manipulative treatment in patient care. The site gives access to the AAO Journal from Spring 2000 onwards.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
Established through US Congressional mandate, NCCAM was established and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health. It contains facts sheets, consensus reports, databases, research information, clearinghouse information, clinical trials, and selected Federal resources.

National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification (NCTRC)
The Council was founded as a non-profit organization in 1981 in US. It has over 17,000 actively Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialists? (CTRS ?) professionals. NCTRC is the national credentialing organization for therapeutic recreation and recreation therapy in the USA.

National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)
NARIC provides access to 70,000+ resources. You can explore the databases: REHABDATA (1997-present) or (1956-1996), the NIDRR Program Directory, its companion Compendium of Products, or the comprehensive Knowledgebase of Disability and Rehabilitation Resources.

Richard and Hilda Rosenthal Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine ? Internet Resources Grid
These resources reflect the main interests and activities of the Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Center and the CAM Center for Aging and Women's Health. The Center does not maintain comprehensive resources for all possible therapies and health issues but provides the primary web sites that offer general resources. These sites provide links to many more resources.

World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT)
This is the key international organisation for Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy around the world and the official international organisation for the promotion of Occupational Therapy. Founded in 1952, WFOT currently has 57member associations.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help