Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Tourism

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Dictionary of travel, tourism and hospitality
Leisure, sport and ethnicity : bibliography
Towards 2020 : New South Wales Tourism Masterplan




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
ATI: Australian Tourism Index
Indexes and abstracts articles on leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and travel from books, conference proceedings, audiovisual material, newspapers, journals, reports, commercial publications, unpublished material and government documents relevant to Australia, NZ and the Pacific. Coverage: 1982 - July 2000

More information about this database
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
CAB Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and reports from over 100 countries. Coverage includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental management, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation, tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology and rural development. Coverage: 1984 -

More information about this database
Factiva
Factiva provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 10 concurrent users.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Informaworld
Access is provided to the complete Taylor and Francis online journal collection. This collection contains more than 1000 full text online journals published across a wide range of subjects.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with no concurrent user limits.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Tourism E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Australian Heritage Commission
Register of the national heritage, list of heritage sites: historic, indigenous and natural. Access to HERA, the database of the Heritage commission.

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources
Commonwealth Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources site. It includes links to recent statistical sources, forecasting and market publications and fact sheets, current legislation, and government and industry sites relevant to tourism in Australia.

National Heritage Trust
A Federal government instrument, NHT describes itself as an 'environmental rescue effort' with responsibility for developing sustainable agriculture and natrual resource management. The site describes the work of the trust, and offers fulltext of its publications, media releases and relevant government acts.

New South Wales National Parks and Wildlife Service
This site gives comprehensive information on the work of the NPWS and the services that they offer. It includes an easy to use annotated list of National Parks in New South Wales.

Register of Australian Regional Tourist Associations
A list of tourist information sites that are presented, operated or maintained by regional tourism organisations, government departments, and local authorities. Sites produced through the efforts of the community based volunteers are highlighted. Maintained by Greg Slapp, Port Douglass Internet Services.

Tourism Australia
Tourism Australia is the Australian Government statutory authority responsible for international and domestic tourism marketing as well as the delivery of research and forecasts for the sector.

Tourism New South Wales
Site is co-ordinated by the State Government's tourism organisation, Tourism New South Wales.

Tourism Research Australia
Tourism Research Australia incorporates a merger of the Bureau of Tourism Research and the Tourism Forecasting Council. The merged organisations will continue to focus on connecting its research to users and promoting the important role research plays in underpinning informed decision making.

International Sites


CDC Home Travel Information Page
Health information on specific destinations. What to know before you go. Information on outbreaks, travelling with children, specific needs, diseases, vaccinations, safe water & food, cruise ships and air travel.

Internet Guide to Hostelling
The Internet Guide to Hostelling is a worldwide hostel database. This link also leads you to information about climate, visa information, embassy locations as well as books and maps, by selecting the country of your choice.

Lonely Planet
Lonely Planet gives tourism information from all around the world. Test Express is the fastest way to get around this site. Select from an alphabetical index the region, country or city of your choice.

U.S. State Department Travel Warnings & Consular Information Sheets
Travel warnings are issued when the State Department decides, based on all relevant information to recommend, that Americans avoid travel to a certain ocuntry. Countries where avoidance of travel is recommended will have travel warnings as well as Consular Information Sheets.

World Tourism Organization
The World Tourism Organization is the leading international organization in the field of Travel and Tourism. It serves as a global forum for tourism policy issues and a practical source of tourism know-how.

World Travel and Tourism Council
The World Travel and Tourism Council is the Global Business Leaders' Forum for Travel and Tourism. It's members are Chief Executives from all sectors of the Travel and Tourism industry, including accommodation, catering, cruises, entertainment, recreation, transportation and travel-related services. Its central goal is to work with governments to realise the full economic impact of the world's largest generator of wealth and jobs - Travel and Tourism.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help