You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources
e-resources
EducationThis is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.
For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
ACE : assessment certification and examination manual
Australian education directory
Dictionary of the social sciences
Encyclopedia of education
Mental measurements yearbook
World of learning
Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
|
A+ Education A+ Education is an indexing and full text database that provides online access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of education. A+ Education is based on 'AEI', the Australian Education Index, and contains the fulltext of 200+ journals. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. Full text: 2000- ; Index: 1978- |
|
|
British Education Index (Selected Content) Contains a selection of bibliographic references to articles and non-journal educational literature recently added to the British Education Index. |
|
|
Career & Technical Education Abstracts, indexes and imaging of Vocational and technical periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum. Subjects include automobile, electronic, computer technology, building trades; graphic arts, medicine, nursing and pharmacy, child care, food service and hotel management, office skills, veterinary technology, retail work, public safety, and other practical studies. US bias. Coverage 1991 - (some indexing from 1975 -) |
|
|
CBCA Education This collection focuses on Canadian information in the field of education. It is the perfect source for those interested in teaching, educational research, and educational administration in Canada. Over 400 journals are in the collection, with file depth back to the 1970s. Academic, administrative, professional, and topical journals are all included, as are newsletters. |
|
|
Education Research Complete Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,870 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,060 journals, and includes full text for more than 133 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. |
|
|
ERIC ERIC is the U.S. national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. The database consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 750 professional journals. In addition, ERIC now contains over 850 ERIC Digest records that feature the full text of the original document. Coverage: 1982 - |
|
|
Proquest Education Journals Areas covered include primary and secondary education, adult education, homeschooling, language and linguistics, and special education. Combines H.W. Wilson's Education Abstracts database with the full-text and images from approximately 130 journals. Coverage : citations 1983- , full text and abstracts 1994- |
|
|
ResourceBank Resourcebank includes a range of class-ready tasks, activity sheets and hyperlinked explanations and pictures to illustrate key terms and concepts. |
|
| Related Databases | General Databases | Additional Research Resources | |
e-journals
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Social Sciences - Education E-Journals
Internet Links
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Sites | International Sites |
Australian Sites
ACER - Australian Council for Educational Research
This site, produced by the Australian Council for Educational Research, provides details of up to date information in educational research, assessment services, and access to the Education Theses Database.
Australian Curriculum Studies Association
This site, produced by the Australian Curriculum Studies Association provides details of curriculum research, developments in curriculum resources and materials, participation in a National Network on curriculum, and conference details.
Curriculum Corporation
The Curriculum Corporation is an Australian organisation providing curriculum support to schools and school systems. This site provides details of curriculum materials based on best practice teaching, offering new ideas in areas such as mathematics, science and English, and also in emerging areas such as civics and citizenship, vocational education, and others.
EdNA Online Education Network Australia
EdNA is a national network fostering collaboration and communication between educational sectors throughout Australia. It contains a vast array of educational resources and links to many others in Australia and overseas.
EdResearch Online
This database is managed by the Cunningham Library, Australian Council for Educational Research. It contains the full text of many journal articles, research reports, government reports, theses, conference proceedings and papers, most of which are available freely on the world wide web.
Education Internet Guide University of Sydney
This site, produced by the University of Sydney, includes a wide range of links to education related topics including Curriculum K-12, Lesson Plans, Early Childhood Education and Educational Psychology.
Education Virtual Library
Education Virtual Library is a good source of online educational information provided by Charles Sturt University. It includes many links on educational topics in the areas of Primary, Secondary, Tertiary and Postgraduate education.
NSW Board of Studies
The Board of Studies NSW is an independent statutory authority of the NSW government with a membership representative of all areas of education. This site provides access to key documents and policies for NSW education, NSW syllabuses, past HSC examination papers and links to schools.
NSW Department of Education and Training
This state government department coordinates the delivery of education and training services across NSW. This site provides access to departmental publications; information for teachers, students and the community; and departmental news and releases.
NSW HSC On-line
The New South Wales Higher School Certificate online project was initiated by Charles Sturt University. It is a network of information services supporting the HSC information needs of students and teachers.
Special Education Links - University of Sydney
This site, produced by the University of Sydney, includes a range of links to special education related topics including Deaf Education, Dyslexia, Gifted Education and Youth with Disabilities.
ultiBASE A World Wide Web Service for Tertiary Educators
ultiBASE, created by the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) University, provides original resources on teaching and learning in several disciplines including education as well as links to other sites and resources on the web. In addition, it contains some full text journal articles and a search engine for finding resource files in ultiBASE.
International Sites
Electronic Journals in the Field of Education
The American Educational Research Association Special Interest Group is responsible for this site. One of its aims is to facilitate research on the nature of communication of educational research. This site includes links to worldwide electronic journals that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full-text and accessible without cost.
ERIC Digests
ERIC Digests are short reports (1,000 - 1,500 words) on topics of prime current interest in education which were produced by the former 16 subject-specialized ERIC Clearinghouses, and reviewed by experts and content specialists in the field. The full-text ERIC Digest database contains over 3000 Digests with the latest updates being added to this site in July 2005. This is a United States site.
Internet Dectectives
Internet Detectives is a Madison Metropolitan School District initiative. It is a web based project in which K-12 students discover, evaluate and review useful curricular-related Internet resources for other K-12 students and teachers. The archive of reports, Kids Report Archive, is also available at this site.
The Educator's Reference Desk
This site links to more than 2000 lesson plans and over 3000 online education sources. It is a United States site, replacing the AskERIC site. It is a component of the Information Institute of Syracuse.
The Gateway to Educational Materials
The Gateway to Educational Materials Project is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and is a special project of the ERIC Clearinghouse on Information and Technology. The Gateway allows users to search collections of educational materials such as lesson plans and teacher guides for all kinds of subject areas.
