Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Plant Sciences

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Agrochemicals desk reference
Dictionary of agriculture
Dictionary of plant sciences
Encyclopedia of agrochemicals
Encyclopedia of applied plant sciences
Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition
Encyclopedia of grain science
Encyclopedia of soils in the environment




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
Agricola
Indexes materials in all formats in agriculture, horticulture, food and nutrition. Recent references include abstracts. International coverage, with a US bias. Coverage: 1970 -

More information about this database
ANR-Index - Agriculture and Natural Resources Index
ANR-Index, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Coverage:1975 - present.

More information about this database
Biological Sciences
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.

More information about this database
CAB Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and reports from over 100 countries. Coverage includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental management, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation, tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology and rural development. Coverage: 1984 -

More information about this database
CSIRO Online Journals
Fulltext of all CSIRO journals.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Plant Science
Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.

More information about this database
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with no concurrent user limits.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Environmental Science E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Australian Database Resources
This page, maintained by the Australian National Botanical Gardens and the Australian National Herbarium, provides links to a collection of online databases relevant to plants in Australia. This collection includes the Australian Plant Name Index, Census of plants in Australian botanical gardens, Flora of Australia, Global Biodiversity Information Facility and many more.

Australian Government Agricultural Portal
Consists of 3 agricultural portals resource management, products and industries and agribusiness. Coverage contains catalogue of Australian, State and Territory Government agricultural information services.

Australian Wine & Brandy Corporation
Includes links to statistics, publications, vintage reports, legal issues and local and international links relevant to the wine and brandy industry in Australia.

NSW Department of Primary Industries : Agriculture
This site is maintained by NSW Agriculture, and includes links to resources relevant to agriculture, horticulture and the rural community including links to department publications (including Agfacts) market information, Commonwealth and State Departments of Agriculture and relevant industry groups.

Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation
Includes links to research information and to all recent RIRDC reports

SARDI Horticulture
Maintained by the South Australian Research and Development Institute. Includes information sources relevant to the growing and handling of horticultural products in Australia, with particular reference to citrus, apricots, potatoes, grape growing and winemaking, ornamental flower crops and postharvest management. Fact sheets and Information kits are also available.

Sydney Postharvest Laboratory
web site provides links to documents on fruit and vegetable storage, horticultural nomemclature, and a substantial list of postharvest related web sites.

International Sites


EXTOXNET -Pesticide Information Profiles
EXTOXNET is a cooperative effort of University of California-Davis, Oregon State University, Michigan State University, Cornell University, and the University of Idaho. Includes detailed descriptions of the toxicology of over 170 commonly used pesticides, associated reference lists and a glossary.

Fruits and Nuts
Maintained by the University of California Fruit & Nut Research and Information Center, which is located at the University of California at Davis. Includes links to information about the research activities of the Center, an extensive set of links to information on production and postharvest management of individual crops, and links to useful additional sites.

OhioLine - Farm
Maintained by the Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. Includes information sources related to growing and maintaining vegetable and fruit crops.

The Families of Flowering Plants
Comprehensive guide to flowering plants, with geographic distribution and information for identification, germination and biological data. Prepared by L. Watson and M.J. Dallwitz.

University of California Vegetable Research and Information Center
Maintained by the Centre, which is located at the University of California at Davis. Includes links to information about the research activities of the Center, an extensive set of links to information on production and postharvest management of individual crops, and links to useful additional sites.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help