Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Engineering

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Civil engineering handbook
CRC handbook of mechanical engineering
Encyclopedia of materials: Science and Technology
Engineering handbook
Environmental engineers' handbook
Telecommunications illustrated dictionary
Wiley encyclopedia of electrical and electronics engineering




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
ASTM International Standards Collection
Access to over 11,800 current Standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Ei Engineering Village 2 (Compendex)
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Coverage : 1884+ Access is restricted to 2 concurrent users.

More information about this database
ENGINE: Australian Engineering Database
Indexes conference papers, journal articles, technical papers, books, discussions, news articles and unpublished papers in all branches of engineering, including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, electrical, electronic, mechanical, military, structural, transport and water. Produced by the Institute of Engineers Australia. Includes abstracts. Coverage: 1980 -.

More information about this database
IEEE Xplore
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library is a comprehensive collection of standards and over 400,000 papers from periodicals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Coverage: 1988 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Informit e-Library - Engineering Collection
Covers all broad engineering fields, including Civil engineering, Engineering of railroads & roads, Mining & related operations, and Sanitary & municipal engineering as well as specialist engineering areas. The Engineering Collection provides access to full content from a range of journal articles, conference papers, working papers and other grey literature sourced from the Engineers Australia library collection and is produced in collaboration with Engineers Australia. 1973-

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Knovel
A collection of over 1100 reference eBook titles in science and engineering. Titles are from the world's leading scientific publishers and professional societies such as American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Elsevier, Industrial Press, John Wiley, McGraw Hill and Springer.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
ProQuest Computing
Fulltext computing journals covering subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, the Internet. International, with an American emphasis. Coverage: 1986 - (Indexing 1981 -)

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Engineering E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Engineers Australia
This site provides information to the engineering community and is a gateway to the world of engineering.

Austroads
The Association of Australian and New Zealand Road Transport and Traffic authority provides strategic direction for the integrated development, management and operation of the Australian and New Zealand roads system and publications in this field.

Cement and Concrete Association Australia
A major source in cement and concrete in Australia

Electrical Theorems and Formulas for Electrical Engineering Students and Engineering
Technical reference library for electrical engineering by BOWest Pty Ltd Perth

Environment Australia
This government site provides information on the national strategies towards environmental protection and sustainability, climate change and world heritage issues.

ewater CRC
ewater aims to enhance the ability of industry to make water management decisions that are cost-effective, transparent, and scientifically defendable.

NSW Department of Environment and Climate Change
DECC was formed by bringing many environment and natural resources management responsibilities and services into one organisation. It has a wide range of responsibilities ranging from climate change, conservation, environment protection, natural resource management and research.

NSW Department of Natural resources
As a leader in natural resource management, the departments role is to help the community to obtain the maximum benefit from its limited, and sometimes fragile, natural resources

Sydney Water
Sydney Water provides drinking water and waste water services to more than four million people in Sydney Illawarra and the Blue Mountains.

International Sites


ICivilEngineer
This site is a web directory which exclusively indexes and catalogues web sites of civil engineering knowledge and technology. It also has technical articles, tutorials, university lecture notes, online full text papers, real-world engineering project information and web based new media.

Amazing Environmental Organisation Web Directory
This site is the largest environment directory on the Web. It provides information on environment organisations from more than 100 countries.

American Geophysical Union
American Geophysical Union is an international scientific society. AGU researchers, teachers, and science administrators have dedicated themselves to advancing the understanding of Earth and its environment in space and making the results available to the public.

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
The organisation provides a global forum for the development and publication of voluntary consensus standards for materials, products, systems, and services.

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Founded in 1852, ASCE advances the practice of civil engineering. The civil engineering database(CEDB) provides bibliographic access to all ASCE publications since 1975.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
This organisation promotes the art, science and practice of mechanical engineering throughout the world.

Bridgepros
BridgePros is a one- stop shop for bridge projects. It provides project updates, links to other bridge sites and employment classified listings.

Circuit Archive
This site is devoted to make available circuit designs and things related to circuits to engineering students and professionals

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
This site provides citations to literature from the National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering and Earthquake Engineering Research Centre (EERC), UC Berkeley. Coverage is from 1971 to present.

Greatest Engineering achievements of the 20th century
Initiated by the National Academy of Engineering, this site lists the greatest achievements of the 20th century.

IEEE
IEEE Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc is a non-profit, technical professional association. It is a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics.

INFOMINE
INFOMINE is a organised web resource with links to selected university level research and educational tools. It is developed and maintained by the Library of University of California.

Intute: science, engineering & technology
A UK based free online service providing access to high quality web resources in science, engineering and technology for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists from a consortium of seven UK universities.

Mechatronics Resources
This site is maintained by the Colorado State University and includes relevant information on this subject.

Online Ethics Centre for Engineering and Science
This site provides engineers, scientists, science and engineering students for understanding and addressing ethically significant problems that arise in science and engineering.

SPIE Web
International Society of Optical Engineering serves the international technical community as the premiere provider of education, information, and resources covering optics, photonics, and their applications.

The Virtual Library on Urban Environmental Management
The site is a resource for urban planners and environmental engineers that includes articles, statistics and links to similar groups.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help