You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources
e-resources
Food Sciences and NutritionThis is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.
For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Dictionary of food and nutrition
Australia New Zealand food standards code
Codex alimentarius
Encyclopedia of food and culture
Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition
Encyclopedia of human nutrition
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Standards Australia online
Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
|
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 5,990 publications, including full text for more than 5,030 peer-reviewed journals. This multi-disciplinary database covers many academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, business, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health and medical sciences. |
|
|
Agricola Indexes materials in all formats in agriculture, horticulture, food and nutrition. Recent references include abstracts. International coverage, with a US bias. Coverage: 1970 - |
|
|
CAB Abstracts Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and reports from over 100 countries. Coverage includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental management, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation, tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology and rural development. Coverage: 1984 - |
|
|
CSIRO Online Journals Fulltext of all CSIRO journals. |
|
|
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) Indexes journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, patents, standards, reports, theses, and legislation relevant to the food industry, including biochemistry, catering, chemistry, food safety, management, microbiology, nutrition and postharvest management. Includes abstracts. Coverage 1969-. |
|
|
FOODnetBASE Contains the full text of over 50 handbooks covering all aspects of the food industry, including food safety, regulations, packaging and biotechnology, for example, ATSDR Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry |
|
|
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with no concurrent user limits. |
|
| Related Databases | General Databases | Additional Research Resources | |
e-journals
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Food Science and Nutrition E-Journals
Internet Links
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Sites | International Sites |
Australian Sites
Australian Food and Grocery Council
This site is maintained by the Australian Food and Grocery Council (AFC), the principal representative body for the Australian processed food and beverage industry. It provides an overview of the industry, with links to member organisations and affiliates, related Australian and overseas government and commercial authorities, AFC publications, fact sheets, submissions and speeches.
Australian Food News
This site is created and maintained by Baldwins, Australian Lawyers and Consultants, who aim to make it an invaluable resource for food industry professionals and dynamic food companies. Includes links to Food Industry Organisations and Companies, food law and policy in Australia, industry standards, food technology and pharmaceuticals, food preparation and handling, and a current awareness service.
CRC for Water Quality and Treatment
Provides information and links to resources related to water quality and associated health issues in Australia and overseas, the Australian Drinking Water Guidelines, the Consumers Guide to Drinking Water, and a growing collection of fact sheets.
Food Regulation Secretariat
Hosted by the Australian Government Department of Health and Aging, this site provides access to recent documents from the Food Regulation Secretariat, and links to related government authorities
Food Safety Information Council
Food Safety Information Council The FSIC has membership from government, industry and professional bodies. It?s purpose is to coordinate the reduction of incidents of food poisoning in Australia. The site contains information on issues associated with food poisoning, and links to Australian and overseas organisations with a role in food safety.
Nutrition Australia
Provides access to information sources relevant to diet, exercise and nutrition for Australians, including links to the Dietary Guidelines, information about diet linked diseases, and glycemic index resources.
Packaging Council of Australia
Australian industry information, the National Packaging Covenant and associated documents including the National Environment Protection Measure and action plans of individual signatory companies, and links to Australian and overseas packaging sites.
University of Adelaide Research Centre for the History of Food & Drink
The Centre was formed to promote research in the history of the production and consumption of food and drink and it's cultural significance. The site includes an extensive bibliography and links.
International Sites
BRENDA: the comprehensive Enzyme Information System
Online version of the Springer Handbook of Enzymes, which provides a concise and complete description of more than 3,700 enzymes for application in analytical, synthetic and biotechnology processes, and the food industry. It is currently available free of charge to academic institutions. Personal registration may required for Off Campus use.
Campden and Chorleywood Food Research Association
This site provides information about the research, services, training opportunities and publications of the Association. It also includes links to UK food legislation and selected international links to organisations in the food industry, including selected UK and European Union links.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Information service about FAO activities, such as food resources nad provision, sustainable development, partnerships programmes and technical co-operation, and links to the Codex Alimentarius sites. Includes statistical databases, conference notes and photo archives.
Food and Nutrition (JECFA Archive)
Provides links to all recent resources from JECFA (the Joint FAO/WHO Committee on Food Additives). Includes searchable links to the WHO food additives series, veterinary drug residues in foods, WHO technical reports, and the Compendium of Food Additive Specifications, Codex Alimentarius, summaries and conclusions of meetings, and other human nutrition and food safety issues.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
FNIC, located at the US National Agriculture Library, collects and disseminates information related to food and human nutrition. Includes links to information related to such areas as dietary supplements and guidelines, the food pyramid, food safety and food composition in the form of links and topic specific databases.
IFST: Useful Links to External Food-Related WWW Resources
A list of useful links to government, research and professional food web sites, maintained by the Institute of Food Science and Technology.
JECFA ? Monographs & Evaluations
Toxicological evaluations of food additives and contaminants and of residues of veterinary drugs in food, produced by the Joint WHO/FAO Expert Committee on Food Additives accessible via the International Programme on Chemical Safety INCHEM site.
The Food Resource
Collated and managed by Oregon State University. Useful list of Internet resources by subject heading. Sites have been reviewed.
