Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Computing and I.T.

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Algorithms and theory of computation handbook
Computational intelligence in manufacturing handbook
Computer engineering handbook
Dictionary of computing
Handbook of applied cryptography
Handbook of internet computing
Handbook of neural network signal processing
Simulation modeling handbook a practical approach




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
ABI/INFORM Global
Indexes over 1000 English language journal and newspaper articles on advertising, business, companies, computers, economics, finance, human resources, marketing, public affairs and taxation. Most include abstracts, many include full text. International coverage. 1985 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
ACM Digital Library
Covers computing and related industries and includes abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for most articles published in ACM journals, magazines and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1985 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Emerald Journals
This Electronic Management Research Library Database is produced by MCB University Press. The database contains over 25,000 management, operations, HR, marketing, library, training and engineering articles from over 130 journals. Coverage: citations and abstracts 1989 -, full text 1994 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
IEEE Xplore
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library is a comprehensive collection of standards and over 400,000 papers from periodicals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Coverage: 1988 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
SAFARI Tech Books Online
Safari Tech Books Online provides electronic full text access to computing titles. Publishers of these titles include O'Reilly and Associates, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall, Que and Sams. Access to the Safari platform is restricted to 4 concurrent users.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with no concurrent user limits.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Wiley Interscience
Wiley InterScience provides online full text access to over 350 journals published by Wiley. Subjects covered include business, finance and management; chemistry; computer science; earth science; engineering; law life and medical sciences; mathematics and statistics; physics and psychology

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Computer Science E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Australian Computer Society (ACS)
The Australian Computer Society (ACS) is the recognised association for Information & Communication Technology (ICT) professional. Includes conferences, professional development information, book reviews plus the tables of contents for the Australian Computer Journal for 1984 to 1995.

International Sites


American Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
Founded in 1979, the American Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) is a non-profit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behaviour and their embodiment in machines. Contains proceedings and conference papers, journal and AI magazine articles, technical reports and e-books.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
Founded in 1947, ACM is a major force in advancing the skills of information technology. Portal to computing literature

BlackStump Web Development Page
This is a directory of web development links. Covers topics in E-commerce and other contemporary issues

Byte
An e-journal covering the latest IT news. Recent fulltext articles are available.

Computer Information Centre
Portal to information on computer hardware, software and communications.

Dr Dobbs Journal
A searchable website providing information on software tools for programmers. Some recent fulltext articles are available.

Galaxy: Computer Technology
A searchable directory of online computing resources. The information is compiled and organised by human Information specialists. This approach allows for focus on depth of coverage within defined subjects.

IEEE Computer Society
The IEEE Computer Society is a leading organisation of computer professionals and societies organised under the umbrella of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. This site provides access to online computing resources and career and technical information for computer professionals.

Java Information Sources
This is a list of online information sources about the Java programming language. Provided by December Communications, Inc.

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Computing
Directory of online computing and IT resources.

ZDNet
A site containing the latest news in the IT industry.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help