Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Biology

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Dictionary of biology
Dictionary of ecology
Encyclopedia of biological chemistry
Encyclopedia of ethical, legal, and policy issues in biotechnology
Encyclopedia of molecular biology
Glossary of biotechnology terms
Life on earth
Wiley encyclopedia of molecular medicine




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
Biological Sciences
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.

More information about this database
BioMed Central
BioMed Central offers online publishing of research articles in all areas of biomedical research with full peer review and no barriers to access of any kind.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Plant Science
Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.

More information about this database
PubMed
Contains the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with no concurrent user limits.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
STREAMLINE: Australia's Natural Resources Database
STREAMLINE, produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd, provides information on all aspects of natural resource management including land, water and vegetation resources. Subjects covered include: soil degradation, sustainable primary production systems, conservation, land use, vegetation rehabilitation, ecological processes, river health, management of nutrients and eutrophication, wetlands, aquatic ecosystems, urban water utilities, wastewater management and irrigation systems. Journal articles, published and unpublished reports, research in progress, books, book chapters and conference papers are all included. Material is taken from both Australian and international sources, but all relates to the Australian situation.

More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Biological Sciences E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Australian Biodiversity Information Facility
This set of databases are a product of the Australian Biological Resources Study, Environment Australia. The set comprises ABIF-Fauna and ABIF-Flora, Australian Plant Name Index, Australian Marine Algal Name Index, Freshwater Algae, and Lichen Checklist. ABIF-Fauna, comprises the Fauna of Australia, the Census of Australian Vertebrate Species and the Australian Faunal Directory (formerly the Zoological Catalogue of Australia). ABIF-Flora will include relevant material from Fauna of Australia, Algae of Australia and Fungi of Australia. All databases are still under development.

Australian Biotechnology Association
A national body which brings together companies, government authorities and individuals involved in the Australian biotechnology industry. The site includes information about the activities of the Association, press releases and links to biotechnology companies, institutions, research institutes, and relevant government and regulatory authorities.

Australian National University Bioinformatics Group
The site includes links to research activities of the group in both molecular bioinformatics and biodiversity informatics, and to a collection of viruses databases, Australian grasses databases, and tools for molecular analysis.

International Sites


Cell and Molecular Biology onLine
A general resource for the biology community with an emphasis on information for cell and molecular biologists. Sites have been evaluated for their usefulness and ease of use. Links are to research, educational, career and literature sources, organisations and conference announcements.

Cells alive
Covers areas such as antibodies, HIV infection, allergy and mites etc. and provides images of cells.

Cytokines Online Pathfinder Encyclopaedia
Covers all aspects of cytokine research, enhanced with tables, formulas and graphics.

Human Genome Project Information
Explore this site for information about the U.S. and worldwide Human Genome Project. Covers a description of the project and it's current status, education, medicine and ethical, social and legal issues. The site is funded by the Human Genome Program of the US Department of Energy.

Society for General Microbiology
The Society was established over 50 years ago to support and promote microbiology and associated subjects worldwide. The site includes information about activities of the Society, publications, including the Society magazine Microbiology Today, and links to microbiology and virology sources, societies and organisations involved in microbiology worldwide, including the American Society for Microbiology and the Australian Society for Microbiology, and to major publishers in related fields.

Species 2000
A project to document scientific names, status and classifications of all species of plants, animals, fungi and microbes on Earth as the baseline dataset for studies of global biodiversity. Can be searched by common or scientific name. Still under development, but in 2000 includes over 196,000 species.

UCMP Glossary
Multimedia glossary of biological terms, maintained by the University of California, Berkeley.

WWW Virtual Library - Biosciences
Provides links to a wide range of sources in biodiversity and ecology, biotechnology, botany, cell biology, environment, medicine, microbiology, mycology, physiology, virology, zoology and more. Includes links to protocols, news, databases, publisher sites, laboratories, suppliers, collections, and relevant subject web sites.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help