You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources
e-resources
Animal SciencesThis is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.
For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Dictionary of agriculture
Dictionary of zoology
Grzimek?s animal life encyclopedia
International encyclopedia of horse breeds
Life on earth:an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution
Merck veterinary manual
Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
|
Agricola Indexes materials in all formats in agriculture, horticulture, food and nutrition. Recent references include abstracts. International coverage, with a US bias. Coverage: 1970 - |
|
|
Agris Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters and reports in agriculture, horticulture, food and nutrition. International coverage, with emphasis on publications relevant to developing countries. Coverage: 1970 - |
|
|
ANR-Index - Agriculture and Natural Resources Index ANR-Index, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Coverage:1975 - present. |
|
|
Biological Sciences This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. |
|
|
CAB Abstracts Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and reports from over 100 countries. Coverage includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental management, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation, tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology and rural development. Coverage: 1984 - |
|
|
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with no concurrent user limits. |
|
|
Web of Science Contains Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1987. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from nearly 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. |
|
| Related Databases | General Databases | Additional Research Resources | |
e-journals
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Animal Science E-Journals
Internet Links
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Sites | International Sites |
Australian Sites
Animal Health Australia
A website of a not-for profit public Company established by governments and livestock industries aimed at enhancing market opportunities through excellence in animal health. Searchable site covering comprehensive subject areas in animal health.
Australian Government Agricultural Portal
Consists of 3 agricultural portals resource management, products and industries and agribusiness. Coverage contains catalogue of Australian, State and Territory Government agricultural information services.
Australian Wildlife Conservancy
AWC is an independent, non-profit organisation dedicated to the conservation of Australia?s threatened wildlife and ecosystems. AWC acquires land, and works with other landholders, to establish sanctuaries for the conservation of threatened wildlife and ecosystems. AWC now owns 13 sanctuaries covering 655,000 ha (1.65 million acres) in places such as north Queensland, the Kimberley, Western NSW and the forests of south-western Australia.
F@rming Online
Topical information about Australian agriculture; market reports; news; climate information from a variety of sources and employment information. The Management section has its own search engine. Selcet Help for links to selected agricultural sites. [Published by Rural Press Ltd.]
National Farmers Federation
Includes press releases, information on current issues, and links to a wide web sites of significance to the farming community.
National Parks and Wildlife Service
The National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS) is part of the Department of Environment and Conservation - the main government conservation agency in New South Wales, Australia. The website includes information on Australian animals, pest animals and publications on community involvement for conservation in the state.
RSPCA Australia
RSPCA is the leading authority in animal care and protection. Available in the website are campaigns on animal welfare, information on National Food Accreditation regarding farm animal treatment, the organisation?s policies and position papers, animal care and RSPCA resources and downloads.
Taronga and Western Plains Zoos
The vision of Taronga and Western Plains Zoos is to inspire Australians and visitors to discover, explore, delight in and protect our natural world. Showcases information on animals, conservation, environment, zoo garden, zoo education and zoo parent animal sponsorship scheme.
International Sites
EXTOXNET -Pesticide Information Profiles
EXTOXNET is a cooperative effort of University of California-Davis, Oregon State University, Michigan State University, Cornell University, and the University of Idaho. Includes detailed descriptions of the toxicology of over 170 commonly used pesticides, associated reference lists and a glossary.
IUCN The World Conservation Union
The Green Web of partnership includes environmental conventions, global standards, scientific knowledge and innovative leadership for over 50 years.
Netvet Veterinary Resources
NetVet was originated by Dr. Ken Boschert, a Veterinarian at Washington University?s Division of Comparative Medicine in St Louis, Missouri. Web Pages include numerous views of Veterinary Medical and Animal resources available on the Internet and beyond.
OhioLine - Farm
Maintained by the Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. Includes information sources related to growing and maintaining vegetable and fruit crops.
VETGATE
It is called the United Kingdom?s gateway to high quality Internet resources in Animal Health. Provides link to other subject headings and features easy website navigation.
