You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources
e-resources
Nursing and MidwiferyThis is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.
For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Australian medicines handbook
Concise medical dictionary
Encyclopedia of infectious diseases
Gray's Anatomy
Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy
MIMS
Oxford companion to the body
Oxford dictionary of nursing
Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
|
Anatomy.tv Presents a detailed interactive model of the Human Anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model. This resource allows 5 simultaneous users. |
|
|
CINAHL Plus with Fulltext CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. This resource has an unlimited concurrent user level. |
|
|
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. |
|
|
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. |
|
|
Meditext Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia and published by RMIT Publishing. It also includes scanned images of journal articles in Meditext, which are sourced mostly from the 80+ comprehensively indexed journals. |
|
|
Medline Indexes articles from approximately 3.600 journals in medicine, nursing, life sciences, human health and the environment, toxicology, nutrition and other health related topics. Also indexes a selection of conference proceedings. International coverage. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes abstracts. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1966 - This resource has a 10 concurrent user limit. |
|
|
Mosby's Nursing Consult Mosby's Nursing Consult contains the full text of 24 nursing journals, 30 nursing text books in electronic format plus news, drug information and patient information sheets of specific interest to nursing students and health care workers. |
|
|
PubMed Contains the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. |
|
| Related Databases | General Databases | Additional Research Resources | |
e-journals
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.
Nursing E-Journals
Internet Links
It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.
Australian Sites | Australian Government Sites | International Sites |
Australian Sites
Australian Department of Health and Ageing
Includes an A to Z guide to sites on specific programs, subjects and initiatives developed by the Department. Access to a large number of free online publications and resources for students
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
This site provides health and welfare statistics and information through an independent agency working with government and non-government bodies.
Cancer Council New South Wales
The Cancer Council is the leading cancer charity in New South Wales. This site provides access to cancer information media releases and current cancer news; links to affiliated Cancer organisations, research and resources for health professionals which includes statistical reports, epidemiology research reports and cancer information updates.
College of Nursing incorporating the New South Wales College of Nursing
The College of Nursing is a professional membership organisation for nurses. It provides access to news briefs, media releases and an online newsletter.
Joanna Briggs Institute
Australian and International Research Collaboration based at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and the Adelaide University with collaborating centres in Australia, New Zealand & Hong Kong.
National Health and Medical Research Council
The Centre was established in March 1995 by the Commonwealth Government in response to community concerns about the human costs of breast cancer. The Centre has been established to improve breast cancer control.
NSW Health (NSW Department of Health)
NSW Health comprises the NSW Department of Health and public health organisations: Area Health ServicesChildren's Hospital at Westmead Corrections Health Service Ambulance Service of NSW. Provides access to Common health topics including helpful guides and information sheets, Guide to Services in your Area, Research and Statistics, News and variety of other health related information
Nurses and Midwives Board NSW
Formerly the Nurses Registration Board, this is a statutory authority responsible for the registration and enrolment of nurses, and for granting authorisation for midwifery practice in the state of New South Wales, Australia. Site includes National Competency Standards for nurses & midwives.
Australian Government Sites
NSW Health New Graduate Registered Nurse and Midwife Recruitment
International Sites
Hardin Meta Directory - directory of Internet Health sources
Hardin Library compiled pointers to the most complete and frequently cited lists for health subjects
Health on the Net Foundation
International Swiss Organization (HON's) mission is to guide lay persons or non-medical users and medical practitioners to useful and reliable online medical and health information. Among HON's distinguishing features are two widely-used medical search tools, MedHunt and HONselect, and the HON Code of Conduct (HONcode) for the provision of authoritative, trustworthy Web-based medical information.
Martindale Health Sciences Guide
?Virtual? Medical Center currently providing access to 131,700 Medical Cases, 61,700 Teaching files, 1,235 Courses/Textbooks, 1,625 Tutorials, 420 Journals, 4,160 Databases and 1,000,s of Movies
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse? (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents, an initiative of U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
National Library of Medicine - US
The world?s largest medical library giving access to Health information (MEDLINE/PubMed, MEDLINEplus, NLM Gateway), various library services (Catalog, Databases, Historical Materials, MeSH, Publications, Training, Grants, Network of Libraries) Research programs, News and Other resources.
NMAP (Nursing, Midwifery and Allied health Professions)
from the Universities of Nottingham and Sheffield, and the Royal College of Nursing, UK. A gateway to evaluated, quality internet resources in Nursing, Midwifery and Allied health Professions, aimed at students, researchers, academics and practitioners. Browse using subject headings or search by keyword
World Health Organization
This site provides information about the broad range of services provided by WHO. There is a search facility, health topics A to Z index and links to relevant sites, the WHO library catalogue and publications guide.
