Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Communication and Media

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of marketing
Concise Oxford dictionary of politics
Dictionary of the social sciences
From talking drums to the internet
International dictionary of broadcasting and film
Margaret Gee's Australian media guide
Oxford reference online




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
Communication Abstracts
Communication Abstracts, published by SAGE Publications, is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Communication Abstracts covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. Coverage has recently been expanded to include international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.

More information about this database
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

More information about this database
Project Muse
Indexes over 40 journals in humanities, social sciences, tourism, culture and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Includes abstracts and provides access to the full text of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Proquest ANZ Newsstand
Access the full text of all major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Proquest Social Science Journals
Wilson's Social Sciences Index with full-text and images. Disciplines covered include addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, art and more. Full text available. International with American emphasis. Coverage: 1986 - ( indexing from 1971)

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Sociological Abstracts
Contains information from approx. 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. It covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations and abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations from the Dissertation Abstracts International. Coverage: 1963 -

More information about this database
WARC : World Advertising Research Center
WARC online is a source of intelligence for the marketing, advertising, media and research communities worldwide, drawn from more than 30 international sources. This spans over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries, augmented with best practice papers, practical guides, daily news, email bulletins, statistical data and more.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Communication and Media E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Advertising Federation of Australia
The Advertising Federation of Australia is a professional association representing companies in advertising and marketing communications to industry, government, media and the public.

Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)
The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) is a statutory authority responsible for the regulation of broadcasting, the internet, radiocommunications and telecommunications. ACMA works closely with relevant industries to achieve active self-regulation, while ensuring industry compliance with licence conditions, codes and standards. ACMA monitors the effect of regulations to ensure they are responsive to the community's needs.

Australian Film Commission
The Australian Film Commission is the Australian Government?s agency for supporting the development of film, television and interactive media projects and their creators.

Australian Society of Authors
The Australian Society of Authors is the professional association for Australia's literary creators.

AWARD ? Australian Writers & Art Directors Association
AWARD is a non-profit organisation representing writers and art directors to encourage Australian standards in creativity.

Copyright Agency Ltd.
Copyright Agency Limited (CAL) is an Australian copyright management company whose role is to provide a bridge between creators and users of copyright material. CAL represents authors, journalists, visual artists, photographers and newspaper, magazine and book publishers as their non-exclusive agent to license the copying of their works to the general community.

Office of Film & Literature Classification
The Office of Film and Literature Classification (OFLC) provides administrative support to both the Classification Board and the Classification Review Board for film and literature in Australia.

Ozguide - Guide to Internet Information Sources for Australian Journalists
Net-based sources of Australian facts or background information, such as business information, cases, databases, directories, government information, legislation, reports, statistics, and trade figures.

Public Relations Institute of Australia
The Public Relations Institute of Australia (PRIA) is the peak professional body representing the interests of Australian public relations practitioners and other communication professionals.

Roy Morgan Research
Roy Morgan Research is a full service research organisation specialising in omnibus and syndicated data providing disciplined qualitative and quantitative research.

The Journalist?s Toolbox
The Journalist's Toolbox features more than 11,000 Web sites helpful to the media and anyone else doing research.

International Sites


Adbusters Culture Jammers Headquarters
A global network of artists, activists, writers, pranksters, students, educators and entrepreneurs who want to advance the new social activist movement of the information age.

Wired
Online full text version of this journal which includes back issues to 1993.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help