Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Economics and Finance

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Blackwell encyclopedia of management
Dictionary of economics
Dictionary of finance and banking
Dictionary of finance and investment terms
Encyclopedia of business and finance
Encyclopedia of finance
International encyclopedia of mutual funds, closed-end funds, and real estate investment trusts
New Palgrave dictionary of economics




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Dat Analysis
This database provides fulltext of all ASX listed companies. IT gives full company details, history and share holder information.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Econlit
Indexes articles from over 400 journals on business, finance, economic growth, economics, marketing, planning, population, collective volumes, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. International coverage. Includes abstracts. Produced by the American Economic Association. Coverage: 1969 -

More information about this database
Fin Analysis
This database is a source of listed company financial history and analysis. Fin Analysis provides a 12-year history of detailed financial information for all companies listed on ASX.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
International Financial Statistics
This is the International Monetary Fund's principal statistical publication and is updated monthly. It covers time series data for approximately 26,000 economic concepts and includes topics such as balance of payments, exchange rates, national accounts, interest rates, population, production and trade. Coverage: Annual series 1948 , quarterly and monthly series 1957 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Proquest ANZ Newsstand
Access the full text of all major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
ProQuest Asian Business
Indexes and abstracts the latest Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, plus many more. Full text available. International, with an American emphasis. Coverage: 1986 -

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
SourceOECD
Provides access to the full text of all monographs, reports, studies, periodicals and statistics produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Topics covered include: agriculture and food; education and skills; emerging economics; employment; energy; enterprise, industry and trade; environment and sustainable development; finance and investment; general economics and future studies; goverance; international development; nuclear energy; science and information technology; social issues and migration; statistics sources and methods; taxation; territorial economy; transition economics and transport. 1998-

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Business E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


Austrade Online
The federal government's export and investment facilitation agency provides a comprehensive, up-to-date export information service, including advice on international trade issues, export programmes and overseas markets.

Australian Department of Finance and Administration
Provides information about Ministers, media releases, speeches, employment opportunities, Commonwealth budget and publications.

Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Provides information about travel, countries, global issues, ministers, media releases, speeches and publications.

Australian Department of the Treasury
Provides information about consumer affairs, economic data, financial services, foreign investment, graduate careers, GST and more. Includes publications, press releases and speeches.

Australian Stock Exchange
Market quotes and share market information

Delisted
This website provides details of all Australian delisted, demerged and deregistered companies.

ERA: Economic Research Associates
Economics Research Associates is an international consulting firm focused on economic analysis for the entertainment and leisure industry, real estate development, public-policy analysis, tourism, and economic development

TradingRoom
Australian comprehensive investment research web site providing access to Company announcements, news, stock market quotes, charts, etc.

International Sites


10 K Wizard Financials Online
Provides access to the SEC's filings of over 68,000 companies.

American Finance Association
Links are provided to sites about financial economics including journals, working papers, professional organisations, research centers and financial institutions.

BigCharts-historical quotations
Comprehensive investment research web site providing access to professional-level research tools like interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis, intraday stock screeners, as well as market news & commentary.

EconData.Net
400 links to socioeconomic data sources, arranged by subject and provider, pointers to the Web's premiere data collections and top ten best sites for finding economic data.

EDIRC-Economic departments, Ins? and Research Centers in the World
Includes Economics Departments, Research Centers and Institutes in Universities, Finance Ministries, Statistical Offices, Central Banks, Think Tanks and other non-profit institutions.

Global Financial Data
An impressive collection of historical global financial data from 1264 to 2000. It includes a collection of research papers about the Eurodollar and a link page with global financial websites. Some information is free, while some must be purchased. Trial access is available.

InvestorWords: financial glossary
With over 5,000 definitions and 15,000 links between related terms, InvestorWords is a comprehensive online financial glossary.

OSU Virtual Finance Library
Provides to academia and investors links about banks, exchanges, world markets, insurers, market news and more.

Qualisteam
An enormous index with thousand of web sites worldwide, including information on banking, investing, taxes, annual reports, venture capital, mutual funds, financial news, software

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 58 countries and 35 US states to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. RePEc now collaborates with the American Economic Association's EconLit database to provide content from leading universities' working paper series to EconLit.

TradingCharts (US based)
Comprehensive investment research web site providing access to professional-level research tools like interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis, intraday stock screeners, as well as market news & commentary. Over 30,000 stock market & commodity futures price charts & quotations following nearly every North American (and many international) stock and futures contract.

UK Equities Direct
Information about annual reports, companies, corporate advisors, investment trusts and more.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help