Skip to UWS Home, nav, content, site search

University of Western Sydney Library Welcome to the UWS Library Welcome to the UWS Library

Navigation

  • Contacts
    • Information Central
  • Opening Hours
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Locations
    • Bankstown Campus Library
    • Blacktown Campus Library
    • Campbelltown Campus Library
    • Hawkesbury Campus Library
    • Parramatta Campus Library
    • Penrith, Ward Library
    • Penrith, Allen Library
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Your Library Record
    • Group Study Room Bookings
    • Training & Support
    • Tutorial Central
    • Printing & Photocopying
    • For Academic & General Staff
    • For External Students
    • For Off Shore Students
    • For Postgraduate Students
    • For Undergraduate Students
    • For UWS Alumni
  • Resources
    • Library Catalogue
    • e-Resources
    • Course/e-Reserve
    • Research Resources
    • Turnitin
    • Research Repository
    • New Books
    • Theses
    • Exam Papers
    • Unit Outlines
    • Downloads
    • Other Library Catalogues
    • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-Collection
    • Classic Catalogue
  • Help
    • Online Librarian
    • Contact Us By Phone
    • Contact Us By Email
    • Copyrighted Material
    • FAQ's
    • Policies
    • Publications
    • Site Map

Resources

  • Classic Catalogue
  • e-resources
    • Subject Resources
      1. Reference Resources
      2. Databases
      3. e-journals
      4. Internet Resources
    • e-journal portal
  • Course/e-reserve
  • Research Resources
  • Turnitin
  • Research Repository
  • New Books
  • Theses
  • Exam Papers
  • Unit Outlines
  • Other Library Catalogues
  • Downloads
  • Library Toolbar
  • Whitlam Prime Ministerial e-collection

You are here: Home > Resources > e-resources > Subject Resources

e-resources

Art and Design

This is a selective listing of electronic resources accessible at University of Western Sydney Library. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via Classic Catalogue.

For further assistance:
Visit your campus library service desk
Phone your campus library
Chat to Online Librarian
Email Contact Us
Contact your liaison librarian

 
Reference Resources  |   Databases  |   e-journals  |   Internet Sites
 



Reference Resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews. Additional print and electronic information sources can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms
Design Dictionary Perspectives on Design Terminology
Dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture
Dictionary of modern design
Dictionary of twentieth?century art
Grove dictionary of art
Oxford dictionary of art




Databases

Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on e-resources page.
ARCH: Australian Architecture Database
Indexes and abstracts articles, exhibitions, reviews, obituaries, editorials, conference proceedings, news items, and award features that are held by Stanton Library, Nth Sydney Council. Covers Australian architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. Coverage: 1980 -

More information about this database
Art Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. It also includes indexing of reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Coverage: Indexing September 1984 - (Abstracting from 1994 - )

More information about this database
Art Images
Developed by the Library and accessed via myUWSAccount login, the Art Images database will initially contain 200 individual digital images purchased from Courtauld Institute of Art. Searchable by key terms such as artist, title and medium, the Art Images database allows UWS staff and students to preview each image and download a high-quality jpg version for use in class presentations or assignments. Additional images will be added to the database on a regular basis.

More information about this database
ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of modern and contemporary art and design dating from the 19th century onwards and the history of photography. Coverage includes performance, installation, video art, computer and electronic art, body art as well as traditional media. Contains references to journal articles, books, exhibition catalogues and dissertations from 1974 to present.

More information about this database
Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogues, and articles from more than 2500 periodicals. Source documents cover European and American Art from late antiquity (4th Century AD) and post classical Western art from 1975 to present. It also includes architecture and design. Coverage: 1983 -

More information about this database
DAAI:Design & Applied Arts Index
An international index to current design and applied arts journals from 1987 to present. Coverage includes illustration, typography, graphic design, architecture, design theory, design history, design management, industrial design and computer aided design. This database also includes a directory of design and craft organizations and information on designers , craftspeople and firms.

More information about this database
Project Muse
Indexes over 40 journals in humanities, social sciences, tourism, culture and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Includes abstracts and provides access to the full text of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

This database contains some Full-Text Articles More information about this database
Related Databases  |   General Databases  |   Additional Research Resources




e-journals

This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library website at Classic Catalogue.

Art, Architecture & Applied Arts E-Journals




Internet Links

It is important to critically evaluate all information found on the Web. The following sites represent a small selection of the potentially relevant links and may act as a starting point.

Australian Sites | International Sites |

Australian Sites


AGDA Australian Graphic Design Association
The Australian Graphic Design Association (AGDA) is the national association for professional graphic designers.

Australian Museums and Galleries Online
Contains National Directory of Australian Museums - over 1000 museums searchable by type, location and collection strengths. Also includes Open Collections - a searchable database of over 400,000 individual collection records from Australian museums.

Design Institute of Australia
An Institute recognised as a dynamic body representing designers in Australia and promoting the highest ethical and professional standards through education, information and event management.

International Sites


ARTLEX ? Online Art Dictionary
Contains definitions of more than 3,000 terms. Also includes images, pronunciation notes, quotations, and links to other web resources. Covers art production, criticism, history, aesthetics and education

Artseek Art Resources Online
Contains a directory of artists listed by media, and a directory of virtual galleries including traditional, contemporary digital, eclectic, photographic and retail art galleries. Also lists artists resources, organisations, publications, festivals etc

Artsnet
Includes searchable databases of arts-related websites and online arts management resources.

Comicsresearch.org
A resources site with annotated bibliographies relating to works about comic books and comic strips, from "fannish" histories to academic monographs.

DesignAddict.com
An online resource for modern, post-modern and contemporary design of the 20th-21st centuries with information on designers and producers, on furniture, lighting, dinnerware, accessories, glass, ceramic, plastic, wood and metalware.

SYMBOLS.COM
Online encyclopedia of graphic symbols.

Ultrashock.com
Ultrashock is a professional community for multimedia developers focused on sharing and exploring ideas and knowledge of multimedia technologies. Ultrashock is a blend of educational content, resources, and entertainment presented in a professionally designed environment.

Copyright © 2007 University of Western Sydney ABN 53 014 069 881 CRICOS Provider No: 00917k | Disclaimer & Privacy | Emergency Help